Diocesan Council

The Diocesan Council acts in the name of, and for the Diocesan Synod, to which it must account for its actions, between the annual meetings of the Synod.

For the purposes of The Charities and Trustee Investment (Scotland) Act 2005, the governing body of the Diocese is the Diocesan Council and the charity trustees are the members, both voting and non-voting, with a few exceptions.

The Diocesan Council is normally convened by the Bishop. Voting Members are the Bishop, the Dean, the Provost, the Synod Clerk as well as ten members (four clergy and six lay members) elected by, and acting under powers delegated by, the Synod. The Chancellor, the Diocesan Secretary, the Diocesan Treasurer and the Canon Missioner are non-voting members of the Council. The Council has the power to co-opt additional members up to a maximum of three from the Synod.

The Diocesan Council meets no less than four times annually, either electronically or physically.

Under the Constitution, the Diocesan Council guides the Diocese in matters of policy and direction, controls Diocesan funds and resources and processes proposals for action by the Diocesan Synod. The Diocesan Council also monitors and receives reports from Diocesan post holders on income and expenditure, budgets, stewardship of resources and investments. The Diocesan Council also supervises the appointment of Diocesan staff and all elections falling under the remit of the Diocesan Synod.

Member Name Charge Term
Voting/Convener The Rt Rev Kevin Pearson
Voting/Dean The Very Rev Reuben Preston
Voting/Provost The Very Rev Kelvin Holdsworth
Voting/Synod Clerk The Rev Canon Gordon Fyfe
Non-voting/Chancellor Sheriff Bruce Erroch KC
Non-voting/Secretary Mr John Mitchell
Non-voting/Treasurer Mr Robert Burgon
Non-voting/Canon Missioner The Rev Canon Audrey O’Brien Stewart
Voting/Clergy The Rev Canon Paul Watson Bishopbriggs Mar-22 to Mar-26
Voting/Clergy The Rev Verity Brown Pollokshields Nov-23 to Mar-26
Voting/Clergy The Rev Janice Aiton Dumfries Mar-22 to Mar-24
Voting/Clergy The Rev Canon Willi Nesbitt Greenock Mar-22 to Mar-24
Voting/Laity Mrs Nicolette Wise New Galloway Mar-22 to Mar-26
Voting/Laity Miss Jenny Whelan Newlands Mar-22 to Mar-26
Voting/Laity Dr Beth Routledge Cathedral Mar-22 to Mar-26
Voting/Laity Dr David Simmons Bearsden Mar-22 to Mar-24
Voting/Laity Mr Nigel Rayner Troon Mar-22 to Mar-24
Voting/Laity Vacant Nov-23 to Mar-24