Who Are We

A Diocese of the Scottish Episcopal Church

The Diocese of Glasgow and Galloway is a union of two of the oldest dioceses in Scotland and is one of the seven dioceses of the Scottish Episcopal Church. The Scottish Episcopal Church is a member of the worldwide Anglican Communion – a family of churches in more than 165 countries.

The Diocese covers the counties of Wigtonshire, Kirkcudbright and Dumfriesshire (the ancient Diocese of Galloway); and the counties of Ayrshire, Lanarkshire, Renfrewshire, Dunbartonshire and West Stirlingshire south of the River Forth (the ancient Diocese of Glasgow).

The Diocese of Glasgow was founded in the sixth century by Saint Mungo, also known as Saint Kentigern, and patron saint of Glasgow. In fact, however, there were bishops in the area before him, such as Saint Kessog, whose death is dated circa 520. Indeed, Tertullian, one of the Fathers of the Church, leads us to believe that there were Christians in the area as early as 210.